Google+ YA Romantics: If You Like ... The Fault in Our Stars

Monday, March 26, 2012

If You Like ... The Fault in Our Stars

Reclusive Bilbiophile's "If You Like" theme for the week is: The Fault in Our Stars by John Green. That was an AMAZING book. If you missed my review, it's here.

John Green book cancer
When I saw that this book was the topic for this week's "If You Like," all I could think about was what Hazel, one of the main characters in The Fault in Our Stars, said. Here are her exact words:

"Cancer books suck. Like, in cancer books, the cancer person starts a charity that raises money to fight cancer, right? And this commitment to charity reminds the cancer person of the essential goodness of humanity and makes him/her feel loved because s/he will leave a cancer curing legacy."

Hazel's a pretty tough chick. But here are my recommendations of three great books about kids facing life-threatening illnesses. I think even Hazel would agree that they don't suck!


The Pull of Gravity by Gae Polisner
Nick's friend Scooter is dying of a freak disease. His Dad, who's very overweight, has left on a cross-country walk across America. After Scooter dies, Nick and his friend Jaycee go on a road trip to return a first edition copy of Of Mice and Men to Scooter's father, who hasn't been heard from in years. This book isn't the least bit sappy or sentimental. I think Hazel would approve.

Last Summer of the Death Warriors by Francisco X. Stork
I think I've discussed my love for Marcelo in the Real World on the blog. Death Warriors is the second book by author Francisco X. Stork. Pancho, a ward of the state after his sister's unexpected death, is sent to St. Anthony's Home in Las Cruces. There he meets DQ, who has brain cancer. DQ wants Pancho to accompany him to Albequerque, where he's scheduled to participate in an experimental treatment. Pancho also wants to find the person responsible for his sister's death.  An original and moving book about coming to terms with tragedy and misfortune.

Before I Die by Jenny Downham
Jenny Downham has the ability to take topics that, handled by a less skilled writer, could come off as very movie-of-the-week. Sixteen year-old Tessa has had leukemia for four years. Now with just months to live, she makes a "Before I Die" list. Tessa isn't the noble cancer patient in the sucky books that Hazel hates. She can be angry and bitter. Some of the things on her list are funny and outrageous: have sex, do drugs, break the law. I think Tessa and Hazel would get along just fine.

This can be a tough kind of book to read -- do you have any favorites?

20 comments:

  1. My favorite cancer book is The Probability of Miracles. LOVE that book! Haven't read Fault yet but I need to. I've not heard one negative thing about it!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I got that one out of the library and didn't have time to finish it. It's on my summer reading list. When we go to the beach for 2 weeks, I read a ton of books...

      Delete
    2. Oooo sounds fun! I love beach vacations! I rarely take any though, since we live 30 miles from it. hehe It'll be a great beach read!

      Delete
    3. We pack up the car and the dog and the tennis rackets and my giant canvas bag full of books and drive five hours. Then when we get there it's like heaven. Beach walks and reading books. It's so relaxing!

      Delete
  2. I actually haven't read any books like this. They sound good, but I never get to them. I really should try to read them though.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I can understand that. Books like that can be SO sad. But none of these are depressing at all!

      Delete
  3. I just got The Fault in our Stars and I can't wait to read it!! I also just got Before I DIe from the library. I'm glad to hear that it's a good book.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Come back and let me know what you thought of them!

      Delete
  4. The Fault in Our Stars is on my list of favorite reads of 2012. AMAZING is the perfect word for this book. I'll definitely have to check out these other ones. They all sound good!

    ReplyDelete
  5. Okay good then these are books for me to avoid! LOL I refuse to read The Fault in Our Stars. Not because I think it will be bad but because I think it will be too sad :-( I don't read anything without an HEA. I will never read The Catastrophic History of You and Me, Before I Die or Never Eighteen either. I just can't handle anymore books like that. I end up depressed for days.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Yeah, I hear you. But sometimes a good cry is cathartic.

      Delete
  6. A tough subject to read. I have to be in the right frame of mind for these.

    ReplyDelete
  7. I wrote a review on that book too! I cried at the end for soooo long. Thanks for the other ideas to read!

    ReplyDelete
  8. My favorite book is My Sister's Keeper by Jodi Picoult. It's a great book that made me cry.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. You're right -- that was such a good book! Did you see the movie?

      Delete
  9. Thank you for including me (and The Pull of Gravity) between John Green and Francisco Stork. I nearly swooned. ;)

    So glad you liked the book. Thanks for taking the time to tell people about it.

    - gae

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Thanks so much for stopping by!
      I loved your book! Nothing makes me happier than to help people find amazing books they might have missed out on :)

      Delete

Thanks so much for stopping by today. I hope you'll leave me a comment. I read and appreciate each and every one and try my best to reply. Leave me a link to your blog or website!

 
Blog design by Imagination Designs