Google+ YA Romantics: If You Like ... books about friends with benefits

Monday, April 23, 2012

If You Like ... books about friends with benefits



If You Like.... is hosted by Melanie @ Reclusive Bibliophile.

This week's theme is Friends With Benefits. In the movie, Mila Kunis and Justin Timberlake, fed up with their love lives, decide to have a no-strings-attached relationship. Of course, things don't go exactly as they planned...

The closest YA book I can think of is.....

The DUFF by Kody Keplinger

In the book, Bianca regards "man-slut" Wesley with complete contempt. He's everything she detests in a guy. But he always seems to be around, and she could also use some distraction, so the two of them begin a secret relationship.

Then there are the YA "Friends With Chemistry" books. LOVE those!  Here are a few of my favorites:

Vee and Rollins in Slide by Jill Hathaway
Melody and Zen in Bumped by Megan McCafferty
Lola and Cricket in Lola and the Boy Next Door by Stephanie Perkins
Violet and Jay in The Body Finder by Kimberly Derting
Kat and Hale in The Heist Society by Ally Carter
Schuyler and Oliver in the Blue Bloods by Melissa De la Cruz
Do you have any other Friends With Benefits or Friends With Chemistry examples? Tell me in the comments!

20 comments:

  1. The first friends with benefits couple that comes to my mind is Fire and Archer from Kristin Cashore's "Fire."

    And Lola and Cricket made me think of Anna and Etienne from Anna and the French Kiss- definite chemistry there:)

    Fun post, Jen!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I LOVED Archer. He's one of the Unrequited Love Boys. There must be more ULB's that I'm not thinking of.....

      Delete
  2. Interesting. I never thought schuyler and Oliver would be in this category. U make Duff sound like a book I would wanna read.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Really? Isn't Oliver secretly in love with her and she picks Jack?? I read the books a while ago, so maybe I'm misremembering...

      And yes, the DUFF is a great book. Racy for YA, and just really good.

      Delete
    2. Yes Oliver is in love with her but she was destined for Jack

      Delete
    3. Well, boo to that. I like Oliver and am sad that he has to be one of the Unrequited Love Boys...

      Delete
    4. he is a red blood after all. usually, different species are looked down upon if they date each other.

      Delete
    5. Forbidden love is all the more romantic...

      Delete
    6. it makes for a great read for sure

      Delete
  3. It's funny, I know there are some books that I have read, but can't think of any that have a friends with benefits thing.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. That's okay! Always a pleasure to see you :)

      Delete
  4. I've been wanting to read The Duff for a long time! I can't think of many friends with benefits exactly books but I can think of a lot of books where friends become more than friends. I love those types of stories like Lola and the Boy Next Door, The Body Finder, Heist Society and Slide. Even when the girl chose someone else I love when the best friend falls in love with the girl like in Iron Fey series with Puck. I always hate when the best friend doesn't get the girl.

    ReplyDelete
  5. I loved Lola and the Boy Next Door, even more than Anna and the French Kiss. I am a total sucker for the "friends with chemistry" story lines. I love that tension! I have Slide on my TBR list but it looks like I will be adding some others...

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Me too! I think a lot of people felt the opposite!
      Slide is a great example of friends with chemistry!!

      Delete
  6. The best example I could think of is HEIST SOCIETY, which you have already mentioned.

    ReplyDelete
  7. The Duff was such an awesome book to read. I found it pretty funny and realistic. So far I have read this book twice and there will be many more reads in the future. How can I stay away from Wesley? Lol. Bianca and her friends were also great to read and I love how different all three of them are, but at the same time have such a tight friendsip.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I really liked it! If I ever come across an extra copy I will give it away on the blog. Just tweeted you about Operation Angel!

      Delete
    2. I have this on my Nook but I definitely would love to have this on my bookshelf.

      Delete

Thanks so much for stopping by today. I hope you'll leave me a comment. I read and appreciate each and every one and try my best to reply. Leave me a link to your blog or website!

 
Blog design by Imagination Designs