Google+ YA Romantics: If You Like... Books About Revenge

Monday, April 9, 2012

If You Like... Books About Revenge



For this week's If You Like -- which, as always is hosted by the amazing Reclusive Biblophile -- our theme is....

REVENGE.

And not just revenge in general. Revenge the TV show. A lot of my friends had been trying to get me to watch the show. Telling me it's exactly the kind of thing I'd love. But I hesitate to take on new shows because I have to save time for reading.

Then I had a slow week, so I started watching episodes online. I'm totally hooked!

But, in any case, the show is based on The Count of Monte Cristo. That book (a classic I haven't read) is about a man who is falsely imprisoned, then escapes, amasses a fortune, and goes about seeking his revenge on everyone he holds responsible.

So ... YA books like that?  I can't think of a whole lot of YA books that deal with revenge. Most themes in YA books are about self-discovery, independence, self-esteem, first love, etc.

Here are the books I thought of. Clicking on linked titles will take you to the book's Goodreads page.



You Against Me by Jenny Downham

When Mickey's sister accuses Ellie's brother of date-rape, he's out for revenge. Mickey crashes a welcome home party that Ellie's wealthy parents are hosting for their son, meets Ellie, and sees a way to get even. It's a morally and emotionally complex book that doesn't take the easy way out when addressing issues of social class, justice, sexual responsibility, and loyalty. I highly recommend it!

On the more comic side of things, there's 

Burger Wuss by M.T. Anderson

When Anthony catches his girlfriend in the arms of another man, he vows revenge. His plan? To get a job at the same fast food restaurant the guy works at and get him back. Of course, things don't go exactly as he planned. This book was more superficial than I would have liked, but I still enjoyed it. My first job as a high school student was in a fast food restaurant, so reading this really took me back!

9/25/12 EDITED TO ADD:


Burn for Burn by Jenny Han and Siobhan Vivian

On exclusive Jar Island, three high school girls from different social circles join forces to get revenge on those who've wronged them.


Premeditated by Josin L. McQuein

After Dinah's cousin Claire cuts her wrists, Dina's devastated. Then she finds and reads her cousin's diary and knows what she has to do: get even.

And it's not exactly YA, but here's a classic revenge book:



Have you read any of these? Or can you think of any other revenge books to add to my list?
Do you like Revenge -- the show-- or revenge in general as a theme?

18 comments:

  1. I love Revenge! It's such a good show. Maybe I like it so much because I love The Count of Monte Cristo (the movie ... I've yet to find the ambition to read the 1,200+ page book!).

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I can't wait until it's back on again.
      Oooh, the Count of Monte Cristo movie. I should just watch that and skip the book.

      Delete
  2. I have only watched a few episodes of Revenge, but I really like it. I try to avoid too much tv lol! I have not read The Count of Monte Cristo, but the movie is really good.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I know -- sometimes I resent the fact that so many books are parts of series and so many TV shows are serial too.
      But since she gets revenge on a different person each week, you don't have to watch every episode :)

      Delete
  3. I bought the book The Count of Monte Cristo for my uncle years ago but I don't think he ever read it =/

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. That was really nice of you but can't say I blame him. Kristilyn says it's 1200 pages. That's a LOT of pages.

      Wondering what is the longest book I've read. Maybe Freedom by Jonathan Franzen. Or the Dragon Tattoo books. I think many books should be a lot shorter.

      Delete
    2. I got it in a paperback and it didn't look that long. maybe I got something else? =/ i don't even remember

      Delete
  4. I read THE COUNT OF MONTE CRISTO years ago. It is fabulous. I have not heard of the TV show REVENGE. Worth watching I think.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. YAY -- Marybelle is the only one of us who's actually read it.
      Gold star!
      The show is way more lowbrow and soap opera-y but in a good way ;)

      Delete
  5. I LOVE Revenge! Such an addicting show! And I had no idea that it was based on The Count of Monte Cristo! I haven't read it, but one of my friends has, and I'll have to tell her that (so maybe I can get her hooked on Revenge, too!). Love all your trivia knowledge! ;)

    ReplyDelete
  6. Hmmm...looks interesting. The Count of Monte Cristo is a great book ;) Thanks for sharing!!! Ive never heard of that TV show. I'll check it out. Addictive shows are the best.

    Haley@PassingPages and www.passingthepages.blogspot.com

    ReplyDelete
  7. Wow -- I'm so impressed that you and Marybelle read a 1200-1500 page classic!

    ReplyDelete
  8. I love Revenge and I so miss it, especially Daniel because he is gorgeous lol. At least new episodes are almost here. I was hooked on that show from the very first preview, it's just so thrilling to watch. I definitely want to read You Against Me it's already in my TBR list. I haven't read a book that deals with date rape so this will be a first but I can tell I will love it.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Daniel is pretty cute. Not as much of a fan of that guy who played Serena's younger brother on GG.

      I really liked You Against Me. Let me know what you think after you read it!

      Delete
    2. I thought that was him. I haven't really seen much of Gossip Girl, even though the episodes I have seen I've loved. Maybe I can Netflix it. But yea he is an interesting character, not my fave but he is funny.

      Delete
    3. Not sure how many seasons he was in -- and I think he had blond hair.

      Delete
  9. I can't think of any books with revenge as a topic. I have watched the tv series Revenge. I think the first few episodes are really good because of how Emily plans her revenge on a number of people, but towards the end, you don't really see that and it got a bit boring for me.

    ReplyDelete

Thanks so much for stopping by today. I hope you'll leave me a comment. I read and appreciate each and every one and try my best to reply. Leave me a link to your blog or website!

 
Blog design by Imagination Designs