Google+ YA Romantics: If You Like Books about Spies, Assassins and Secret Agents

Monday, June 11, 2012

If You Like Books about Spies, Assassins and Secret Agents



If You Like.... is hosted by Melanie @ Reclusive Bibliophile.

This week's theme is ... Harriet the Spy. I can't begin to tell you how much I loved this book growing up. I even dressed as Harriet the Spy one Halloween.

What could be more fun in the summer than a page-turning read about spies?

There are LOTS of YA books about spies, secret agents, double agents, and assassins in disguise.

You can click on the covers to get to the Goodreads page.


A Girl Named Digit by Annabel Monaghan Kiki Strike by Kiersten Miller I'd Tell You I Love You But Then I'd Have To Kill You by Ally Carter

A Girl Named Digit by Annabel Monaghan
Kiki Strike: Inside the Shadow City by Kiersten Miller
I'd Tell You I Love You But Then I'd Have To Kill You (Book #1 Gallagher Girls series) by Ally Carter

Also Known As by Robin Benway Spies and Prejudice by Talia Vance pic name

Also Known As by Robin Benway
Spies and Prejudice by Talia Vance (releases June 2013)
Two Lies and a Spy by Kat Carlson (releases Sept 2013)

Historical fiction about spies, secret agents and assassins:

Code Name Verity by Elizabeth Wein The Agency: A Spy In The House by Y.S. Lee Grave Mercy by Robin LaFevers

Code Name Verity by Elizabeth Wein
The Agency series by Y.S. Lee
Grave Mercy by Robin LaFevers

YA fantasy featuring assassins:

Poison by Bridget Zinn Poison Study by Maria Snyder Throne of Glass by Sarah Maas

These three might particularly appeal to boys -- but great reads for anyone!

The Recruit by Robert Muchamore Silverfin by Charlie Higson Monomorency by Eleanor Updale


The Recruit (Cherub series) by Robert Muchamore
Silverfin (Young James Bond series) by Charlie Higson
Montmorency: Thie, Liar, Gentleman by Eleanor Updale

Below are even a few more. Click the highlighted text to get to the Goodreads page.

Kill Game (Fearless FBI) by Francine Pascal
Perfect Cover (The Squad #1) by Jennifer Lynn Barnes
Spy High Mission One by A. J. Butcher
Stormbreaker (Alex Rider series) by Anthony Horowitz
Boy Nobody by Allan Zadoff.

Have you read any of these? Do you have any great YA spy books to add to my list?

36 comments:

  1. I have read so many of these...obviously I like spies/assassins. I will definitely be adding the ones I haven't read to my tbr list because I just can't get enough of these kinds of books.

    Of the ones you listed, Code Name Verity and Poison Study are my favorites!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Those are two of my favorites. But also Grave Mercy and I love Ally Carter. The Francine Pascal and Jennifer Lynn Barnes are older books, but they look really good!

      Delete
  2. I thought I loved spy books... but I don't think I could have made a list this long. Love Gallagher Girls and The Agency. Reading Code Name Verity now. It's so good! Now I have more to check out.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I didn't think I knew this many spy books either -- there are a lot of great ones!

      Delete
  3. I haven't ready any of those or any mystery type book. Grave Mercy is on my tbr though

    ReplyDelete
  4. I loved the 1st book of the Gallagher Girls (only one I've read, so far) and Grave Mercy, so I think I'll have to check some of these other ones out!

    ReplyDelete
  5. I love the Gallagher Girls books. I'm reading number 4 in the series right now. I want to read the 3 books for the Agency series next. I'll have to check out these other books you have listed.

    ReplyDelete
  6. ahh... I need to read more of these books! I've only read Grave Mercy and Code Name Verity! Definitely going to have to add the others to my tbr list!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Yeah, it would seem like you'd like spy books :)

      Delete
  7. Ooo, I love spy/secret agent books! The Gallagher Girls series is definitely my favorite. I haven't read any of the other one's you have listed but a handful of them are on my TBR, I'll have to look the rest up =) Another great spy series is The Specialists by Shannon Greenland.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Thanks for the tip -- I'll check that one out :)

      Delete
  8. Haven't read any... I haven't read any YA spy books, only romance novels..

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Branch out!!!! You can do it. Maybe we should each pick a book for each other to read. I'll read a romance, you'll read a non-romance. WDYT?

      Delete
  9. Oohh, I love books w/ spies and assassins. Starting Grave Mercy next (finally.) There is one book on your list I have wanted to read FOREVER. The Agency. I need to find a cheap used copy online and just go ahead and buy it already...

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I've only read book one of the Agency, but I really enjoyed it!

      Delete
  10. I'm loving this collection! Of the books, I've only read Grave Mercy (that was good - gave it 4/5 stars), but I also have a copy of Poison Study waiting to be read. I've heard great things about that!

    I think I'd Tell You I Love You, But Then I'd Have to Kill You sounds awesome! Adding that to my wishlist.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Poison Study is really good -- kind of fantasy meets spy. Let me know if you like it!

      Delete
  11. Love spies and assasins! I loved The Gallagher Girls just like everyone else. That series just got better and better too! I also love her Heist Society books. I've also read Poison Study, but haven't read any of the others. All of these will be added to my tbr, so thanks for the list! The only other spy type books I've read have been regency ones and I don't know that they would really count, but they were fairly good.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Yay -- more spy fans!!!
      I love Regency books too, and you're right, they often do have a sort of intrigue element...

      Delete
  12. These all sound great! I have Grave Mercy and The Agency on my TBR list...but you know how that goes. Thanks for the great suggestions!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. They're both good -- I don't think you'll be disappointed!

      Delete
  13. Oooh, I love this list! I've read some of these, like CHERUB, Kill Game (I HATE the ending though), and am even currently reading Fire Study! (Poison Study was the best though :P)

    ReplyDelete
  14. All these books look really interesting, but am i the only one who wasn't won over by Grave Mercy? I just didn't warm up to the story....nice cover though, lol.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I liked Grave Mercy a lot but I'm crazy about historical fiction. I think if you went into the book expecting tons of action, you might feel that way. The cover is fantastic, right???

      Delete
  15. THE AGENCY series looks great to me & MONTMORENCY: THIEF LIAR, GENTLEMAN. I have not heard of these before.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. The Agency is fun. I haven't read Montmorency but it comes highly recommended to me by a teenage boy!

      Delete
  16. I love the Gallagher Girls series! Which is why I want to read A Girl Named Digit. It seems similar and like a cute and fun read.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I have an ARC of Digit. It's really short, but I don't have a problem with that, because my TBR pile is so tall.

      Delete
  17. Not a big mystery fan, but if you pair it with historical fiction, I'm in. I loved Grave Mercy and Poison Study! Gonna have to check out some of those others, as well.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Some of these have more of a thriller vibe. But if you love historical fiction, definitely check out Grave Mercy, The Agency, or Montmorency. Poison Study is kind of fantasy/intrigue. Really good!

      Delete
  18. Thanks for the info Jen, i hadn't heard of many of these titles :)

    ReplyDelete
  19. Hey Jen! Thanks so much for dropping by our blog :) We're now following yours.

    I haven't read Harriet the Spy but now I feel like I should! Plus I LOVE Code Name Verity!

    ReplyDelete

Thanks so much for stopping by today. I hope you'll leave me a comment. I read and appreciate each and every one and try my best to reply. Leave me a link to your blog or website!

 
Blog design by Imagination Designs