Google+ YA Romantics: If You Like ... The Great Gatsby

Monday, June 4, 2012

If You Like ... The Great Gatsby



If You Like.... is hosted by Melanie @ Reclusive Bibliophile.

This week's theme is ... The Great Gatsby.

A very timely topic. Have you seen the trailer for the new Baz Luhrmann adaptation of the book?  Lots of controversy around his interpretation. You can watch it by clicking this highlighted text.

Well, when recommending YA books that evoke Gatsby, the obvious answers are:

pic name pic name

The Vixen series by Jillian Larkin

The Bright Young Things series by Anna Godberson

If you click on the photos, you'll get to the book's  Goodreads page.

Okay, call me crazy if you like (go ahead, you won't be the first) but I'm listening to the Curseworkers series by Holly Black on audio right now and I do think those books has a few parallels to the Great Gatsby:

--Prohibition of illegal activity (alcohol/curseworking)
--Gatsby and Wolfsheim sell black market booze/Cassel is a grifter and con artist
--Cassel's unrequited love for Lila/ Gatsby's unrequited love for Daisy
--Strong sense of moral ambiguity (regular readers know how I love that!)

If you haven't read these books -- do it. I love them so much!!!! About to start Black Heart.




23 comments:

  1. Let's talk about my love for Anna Godbersen, shall we?? It is POTENT. I FREAKIN' LOVE HER!!!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I've read all her books too. They're really fun!

      Delete
  2. ooh, I never thought about that, but you're right, there are lots of similarities to The Curse Workers series! I LOVE that series. I haven't read Black Heart yet, can't wait for your thoughts (like whether I should buy or wait for library to stock it:) Not sure how I feel about the new Gatsby film. Visually it's stunning, but I'm pretty old school. I don't think it's going to be the same without Robert and Mia.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I have about one chap let in Red Glove and then I'm buying Black Heart!!

      Delete
  3. I don't know why, but I'm halfway through White Cat and I lost interest. Something must be wrong with me! :( I've heard nothing but good things about it and for some reason I just can't get into it.

    This makes me sad lol.

    Jenny

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Try the audiobook. Jesse Eisenberg reads and is amazing! I love them so much I read and listened both!

      Delete
  4. OMG I have been dying to read Black Heart!! I pre-ordered months ahead and when it finally came out, I didn't have time. :( I need to make time for it. I loved the first two books!!

    ReplyDelete
  5. Wow I remember The Great Gatsby from school, we also saw the movie. Maybe I should reread this book I so don't remember how the story goes lol.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I love the book and re-read it every so often! I'm excited for the movie too!

      Delete
    2. I should get both the movie and book I so don't remember either lol.

      Delete
  6. True confession: I've never read the Great Gatsby. Although a friend sent me a link to a really awesome old-school computer game of Gatsby last year...But I digress, haha...

    I think I may have to pick it up and give it a try...especially with the swanky new movie coming out ;o)

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I'm glad when people make confessions like that -- there are plenty of classics that I haven't read.

      Yes, read the book. It's short, and then you can weigh in on the swanky movie interpretation....

      Delete
  7. Not the biggest Gatsby fan. I usually hated everything I was forced to read in high school. I had a good English teacher when we read it so it came out alright. I'm just not a big historical reader. I just read Venom by Fiona Paul and it's the first historical book I've enjoyed and mostly because the main guy Falco was so hot and entertaining. I've heard great things about the Curseworkers series. I'll have to try that sometime.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. It is hard when you are forced to read something you don't want to read - but Gatsby is a great book -- give it a try sometime!!!

      Delete
  8. I keep seeing the Curseworkers books go by so I might need to jump on one. And the Gatsby movie, hmmm, I might have to rent once it comes to video. I do love Romeo+Juliet in that way that I think most people my age do (so grunge+MTV+post generation X angst) and Strictly Ballroom is AMAZING. If you haven't seen it, go now, run, find it!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I'm seeing Gatsby in the theater -- I'm excited about it.
      I love Strictly Ballroom. That was a great movie!!

      Delete
  9. I enjoyed reading The Great Gatsby for the Top 100 Novels list (it's on my blog somewhere..lol) So maybe I would like these other books! They sound interesting at the very least :)

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. The YA books certainly aren't as literary as Gatsby, but they're both a lot of fun and capture the spirit of the 1920s.

      Delete
  10. With Baz Luhrmann I know I'm in for a visual treat at the movies.

    The Vixen series by Jillian Larkin & The Bright Young Things series by Anna Godberson do appeal to me. I have not read any of them.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I enjoyed them -- and I really loved Moulin Rouge! Can't wait to see what he does with Gatsby -- and I love the casting!!

      Delete
  11. I'm hoping they don't mess up the movie. I'm planning on re-reading Gatsby since it's been so long. I haven't read any of the other books you talked about, but I just requested the Curseworkers series from the library so I'll be reading them soon. :)

    ReplyDelete
  12. In fact, I DO love The Great Gatsby. And now that you've pointed it out, you are totally right about The Curseworker Series. No wonder I love it! And I want to read Bright Young Things so bad!

    ReplyDelete

Thanks so much for stopping by today. I hope you'll leave me a comment. I read and appreciate each and every one and try my best to reply. Leave me a link to your blog or website!

 
Blog design by Imagination Designs