Google+ YA Romantics: Books Like the TV Show Nashville

Thursday, November 29, 2012

Books Like the TV Show Nashville

twinbooks

I'm SO excited to debut my new occasional blog feature .... Bookalikes!

I used to participate in The Reclusive Bibilophile's "If You Liked" feature on Mondays. Then Melanie put her blog on hold :(

So, welcome to my new "Books Like" feature, in which I pick a topic  (a book, or TV show or some other pop culture phenomenon) and try to come up with YA books that I think will appeal to fans of that topic. Bloggers spend a lot of time focused on the latest and newest, and this is also a way for me to show the love for some different books.

Today, my inspiration will be .... Nashville!


Have you seen Nashville? It's on ABC on Wednesday nights. The show focuses on two singers, country legend Rayna James (Connie Britton) and scrappy young pop-country singer Juliette Barnes (Hayden Paniettiere.) Rayna has a stuffy husband and a broody ex-boyfriend. Juliette has a wild streak and a mother with addiction issues. Then there's too-sweet-to-last aspiring songwriter Scarlett, her aspiring musician boyfriend Avery, and Gunnar, the nice guy slash third wheel.

So, the show's formula is....

Country Music
Reigning Queen Bee vs. Ambitious Upstart +
Politician's Daughter and associated political intrigue +
Sweet Young Thing+
Unrequited Love 

Here are my YA book recommendations for fans of Nashville. Click on the covers to get to the book's Goodreads page!


Paradise by Jill Alexander (Macmillan, 2011)

Country music + Unrequited Love 

Paisley, a drummer in a country rock band, dreams of making it to the Texapalooza music festival. To do that they need a lead singer. Now. In strolls Paradise. Not only does he complete the band, he turns Paisley's head. Which is great, except that Cal, the band's quiet lead guitarist, is also secretly in love with Paisley. Each chapter from Paisley's point of view alternates with a song written by Cal. About his feelings for Paisley. 
This book!  I'm not even the world's biggest fan of country music, but this book just encapsulates all the heartbreak and longing of a country song.




Queen of Kentucky by Alecia Whitaker (Poppy, 2012)

Sweet young thing +Unrequited love

Ricki Jo is worried that the country club girls at her school will think she's a hick. She falls for the absolute wrong boy and doesn't realize it. She has the absolute right boy under her nose and doesn't realize it.





My Life Next Door by Huntley Fitzpatrick (Dial, 2012)

Politician's daughter + associated political intrigue

Samantha Reed is the perfect politician's daughter: pretty, high-achieving and scandal-free. While her mother is all tied up with a political campaign, When Sam begins to fall for Jase Garrett, she keeps her new relationship secret from everyone in her well-ordered life. But then something terrible happens, and Sam has to choose between Jase and her family, between what's right and what's easy.

Okay, a book set in the Northeast might seem like a less obvious choice. But  part of Nashville's plot revolves around a political campaign. Rayna is the daughter of a powerful politician. Sam is the daughter of an aspiring politician. Both the show and the book deal with a political campaign and a lot of conniving and scandal.

Okay, what do you think? About the show, my new feature, and the books I chose? Do you have other books to suggest?

38 comments:

  1. Thanks for the recs-I think this is a really fun idea. I actually already had Paradise on my to-read list but I'm not sure I knew what it was about so now I have a better idea. I really like Nashville so this was a perfect start to the feature for me. Trying to think of some other ideas for you!

    ReplyDelete
  2. Ooh...I want to read Paradise! A girl named Paisley? Texaspalooza, you say? That's all I need to hear:) Fun post!

    ReplyDelete
  3. Thanks for the recs, I think I would enjoy Paradise (because of the songs) and Queen of Kentucky (because it sounds like it would have some really swoony parts). My email address is pnh002@gmail.com thanks for the giveaway!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Ack -- sorry to make you guys put emails in comments. I should have made a Google Doc. If your account links to an email or blog, I will find you!!!

      Delete
  4. I love the new feature, what a great idea! I haven't seen Nashville yet, but I know that any list with My Life Next Door on it must be fantastic!

    ReplyDelete
  5. I LOVE Nashville! These are some great picks :)

    ReplyDelete
  6. First of all: Why am I not watching Nashville?! I think I wasn't interested b/c I'm not into country music at all. But I do looove me some drama.
    Thanks for this great feature! Paradise sounds awesome. I'll probably buy it if I don't win. And this makes me more excited to read MLND.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Try it -- you can watch the first episode at ABC.com and see what you think!

      Delete
  7. You always come up with the BEST features. I totally LOVE IT!!!!!!!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Heh heh. Will be bothering you for ideas soon...

      Delete
  8. Great feature! I haven't read any of those books, but they all sound fabulous. I have been wanting to watch Nashville, but I really watch way too many shows already.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I know, right? My friends tell me about a show and I'm like, nope. I don't have any openings for new shows right now...

      Delete
  9. This is an awesome feature for your blog!! And I LOVED My Life Next Door. It was one of my favorites:)

    I'd love to be entered in the giveaway - Paradise sounds awesome:)

    Thank you:)

    ccfioriole at gmail dot com

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Thanks so much. And sorry about the email. If clicking on your name here leads me to an account, you can delete this!!!

      Delete
  10. I've never heard of Paradise-- it sounds really good! I'd love to read it.

    Nashville is my new favorite show this season. Love Connie Britton as Rayna!

    lauren.yager@eagles.usm.edu

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. It's it great! Love Connie Britton and Hayden P is a great singer!

      Delete
  11. What a great new feature! I know I have talked about my love of fanfiction before but I love it for its ability to expand upon the material provided in a 30-60 minute show (less obviously with commercial). To me it's even better than reading books that have similar themes because then I have the ability to expand on the possibilities of the TV characters and their realities. I think I just nerded out.

    I'd like to be entered in the giveaway. Paradise is on my TBR list! smann81@gmail.com

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Love your comments!!! We need to talk more about fanfiction. I don't know that much about it!

      Delete
  12. I haven't watched Nashville, but I've heard of all of these books before and they all look fantastic. Maybe I should catch up on that show!

    Great new feature!

    Jesse @ Pretty in Fiction

    ReplyDelete
  13. I love this new feature. I have only seen a few episodes of the show, because school has kept me busy. I love your selections for this post. I think you should definitely do another post like this one :D!

    I would like to be entered for the giveaway as well :).

    ssweett_rebelde@hotmail.com

    ReplyDelete
  14. This is a great idea! I almost started watching Nashville but I chose Chicago Fire, on at the same time, instead. Kind of a bummer since Jonathan Jackson is on Nashville and I am a big General Hospital fan. Anyways... I have been wanting to read My Life Next Door for months and still haven't had the chance. *sigh* Soon, I swear! I look forward to more of these posts! :)

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I know. If I watch too much TV, I lose reading time!

      Delete
  15. Love the new meme! I can't wait to see what your gonna come up with! And thanks for the recommendations. They all look good.

    ReplyDelete
  16. I love the meme! I haven't heard of this series before. Sounds really good so maybe one day one of the TV houses here will show it. I'm dying to read My Life Next Door :)

    ReplyDelete
  17. I had not even heard of the TV Show NASHVILLE, but then I practically live on the far side of the moon.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. What? This show hasn't made it to Australia yet? You have country music there. Keith Urban is the proof!

      Delete
  18. I love this new feature! I haven't seen Nashville or read any of the books you recommended but I'm definitely checking them all out. :)

    ReplyDelete
  19. I really enjoy Nashville. Thanks for the recommendations, which I am adding to my Goodreads list. I would add Audrey, Wait/Benway http://tinyurl.com/yhbk9py and Born to Rock/Korman http://tinyurl.com/a26ft6p

    CLM

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. LOVE Audrey, Wait! And I agree, there are some parallels. The songwriter boyfriend and the sudden fame. I haven't read Born To Rock, but have heard of the author.

      Thanks so much for stopping by with suggestions :)

      Delete

Thanks so much for stopping by today. I hope you'll leave me a comment. I read and appreciate each and every one and try my best to reply. Leave me a link to your blog or website!

 
Blog design by Imagination Designs