Google+ Jen Ryland/YA Romantics: YA Books for Fans of Sherlock

Monday, February 3, 2014

YA Books for Fans of Sherlock

twinbooks photo twinbooks.jpg

I am kind of obsessed with Sherlock on Masterpiece Theater.  I have not yet watched last night's episode, so no spoilers!



If you haven't read one of my prior Bookalikes posts, here's how it works.

Step 1: I deconstruct the different elements of my inspiration. What are the elements that make this unique and wonderful?


Step 2: I go into my mind palace. (Sorry -- Sherlock joke. Couldn't resist. And FYI, my mind palace is more like a broom closet.) I think of other YA books that have at least a few elements in common with Sherlock. It's rare that they share all of them, but I want as much overlap as possible. In this case, the books I chose are not all YA, but I have marked them accordingly.

Here goes... click on the covers for more information on my choices.

SHERLOCK =  quirky genius + bromance + London setting + mystery + evil nemesis

Last Little Blue Envelope Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night Time Case of the Missing Marquess

1. The Last Little Blue Envelope by Maureen Johnson

WHY? London setting + mystery + broody, handsome guy in a long coat

This is my most out-of-the-box pick. And okay, I added that last category. But I see the parallels. And I enjoyed this book.

2. The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time by Mark Haddon 

WHY? Quirky genius + UK setting + mystery

I think this is technically an adult book, but I recently gave it to a teenager who loved it.

3. The Case of the Missing Marquess by Nancy Springer (middle grade)

WHY? Relative of Sherlock Holmes + mystery + London setting


Clockwork Angel London Eye Mystery Artemis Fowl

4. Infernal Devices series by Cassandra Clare

WHY? Bromance + London setting + evil nemesis

5. The London Eye Mystery by Siobhan Dowd (middle grade)

WHY? Quirky genius + London setting + mystery

6. Artemis Fowl by Eoin Colfer

WHY? Quirky genius + UK setting + evil nemesis

If you've seen the show, tell me what you think of my choices.  If you have suggestions of books to add, let me know in comments and I'll add them on and give you credit. If you just want to fangirl over Benedict Cumberbatch, that's okay too...

BOOKS SUGGESTED BY MY BLOG READERS:

No Place Like Holmes by Jason Lethcoe (suggested by Jaguar Hero!)
The Girl in the Steel Corset by Kady Cross (suggested by Tressa @ Tressa's Wishful Endings)

15 comments:

  1. This is a cute post! I never would have equated some of those books you mentioned with Sherlock Holmes books but the way you lay them out helps me see the connections:) And hooray for the bromance! I want to read more of those this year:)

    ReplyDelete
  2. I can not wait to watch Season THREE! I'm dying for it!!

    ReplyDelete
  3. I think they show this series here in Germany too, because my brother mentioned it to me. But I don't have time to watch because all the free time I have I spend reading!

    But I do own the classic The Complete Sherlock Holmes by Sir Arthur C. Doyle. Haven't read it though. lol.

    As soon as my 11-month old sleeps through the night and I feel more rested, I plan on watching many DVDs and shows.

    Great post!

    ReplyDelete
  4. I love Sherlock! I think it's fantastic. :)

    But I've only ever read Artemis Fowl from your list (which I think fits, though it's been a few years so I have a hard time remembering!)

    There is a book called No Place Like Holmes. It's sequel is the Future Door. They're more aimed towards kids/pre-teens, but it's about a kid around the turn of the century who wants to be a detective like Sherlock Holmes & has read the stories & visits his uncle who lives next door to Sherlock Holmes. So he solves mysteries. It was interesting, again, it's more aimed for kids, but it was decent for a Sherlock Holmes fan. :)

    ReplyDelete
  5. I love these, Jen!! Artemis Fowl was a fabulous choice! The Girl in the Steel Corset reminds me a little of Sherlock. It's got that quirkyness and a smart mind in the hero and a villain I definitely could see in Sherlock's world and is set in England. :)

    ReplyDelete
  6. Love this. Love Sherlock! I just finished watching last night's episode myself. Don't worry I won't spoil anything =) I haven't read any of these books myself so I can't say if I see the connection but now I'm interested in checking them out!

    ReplyDelete
  7. I absolutely agree with the recommendation of Infernal Devices for a Sherlock lover. I've been meaning to read those Nancy Springer books forever, too!

    My recs for Sherlock fans (I'm taking this more literally):

    -- The movie YOUNG SHERLOCK HOLMES, which imagines Holmes and Watson meeting at boarding school. It's dark and beautiful and holds up really well--I actually wish the Harry Potter films had had a similarly grave tone.

    -- The rather obscure middle grade series about a boy who helps Sherlock on his cases, beginning with THE BAKER STREET IRREGULAR. I love love loved this series as a kid, and awhile back and bought them all online so I could read them again.

    My less literal rec, but one which still reaches back--The Three Investigators series, for those who enjoy Sherlock's ability to deduce from a seemingly random assortment of clues. The boys have a detective agency hidden in junkyward (with secret entrances!) and the mysteries are REALLY good. I might add that to our classics readalongs list sometime.


    Wendy @ The Midnight Garden

    ReplyDelete
  8. I'm going to have to check some of these out. Quirky genius + bromance does it for me every time!

    ReplyDelete
  9. Infernal Devices series? Really? Oh, I like those comparisons. Now I'm really interested in that series. I love Sherlock, but not just the show. All of Sherlock. lol.

    ReplyDelete
  10. I think Artemis Fowl is a great choice for this comparison-his personality really reminds me of Sherlock and he certainly has the brains!

    ReplyDelete
  11. This is such a fabulous post idea! I loved The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time (but, come on? The title? It exhausts me every time XD). I've only actually watched one of those Sherlock series...it was quite funny, but I can't claim to be in the fandom. Sherlock Holmes with RDJ and Jude Law on the other hand....AJFSDKL;J;LK.

    ReplyDelete
  12. Oh dear, you must get your heart ready for the last episode of Sherlock!! It's such a fantastic and evil show, the wait between seasons is horrible!

    ReplyDelete
  13. I think Artemis Fowl is a great choice, as for the other books in your list I haven't read them but I'm sure to check them out :)

    I love love love Sherlock too! And of course, Watson, and Moriarty... ok no spoilers but I just can't help fangirling :D
    - Farzy @ Books Keep Me Sane

    ReplyDelete
  14. Aww I should really start Sherlock soon! I definitely have been hearing nothing but positive things, and each show is like two hours long so that's definitely a lot of show-watching time per episode.

    ReplyDelete
  15. Being something of a Sherlock Holmes fan but not having seen Sherlock on television, I'd like to throw in these suggestions.

    The Young Sherlock Holmes series by Andy Smith
    The Baskerville Affair series by Emma Jane Holloway
    Secret Letters by Leah Schreier also has a Sherlock connection

    For adults, Laurie R. King's series has an older Sherlock.

    ReplyDelete

I read and appreciate every comment and try to respond to as many as possible. Leave a link to your blog so I can visit you back. And if you're a new follower, please let me know :)
If you have any trouble commenting, please let me know via the contact me page!

 
Blog design by Imagination Designs